The Stan Tait Memorial Award History

The Florida Economics Club (as it was first called) held its first meeting at the old Silver Slipper in the back of the Northwood Mall on September 1, 1977.  A planning committee of eight had been formed to create this new club. The initial committee included Bob Arnow, Bruce Bechard, Cliff Burkhart, Larry Dunn, Jack Mowell, Bill Rader, Bert Riedel and Stan Tait.

Over the years, the Club would grow in size and stature.  Stan Tait, who would eventually become the Executive Vice President of the Club, was instrumental in that growth.  With Stan’s leadership and steady hand at the helm, the Economic Club of Florida (as it is now called) became recognized as one of the South’s most important forums for distinguished speakers on issues of the day.

The Stan Tait Memorial Award is a tribute to a remarkable man and friend who worked tirelessly to make this Club a success.  The intent of the award is to recognize current or former Club members in good standing who also display the character, dedication, integrity and passion for service epitomized by Stan Tait.  The Award is an annual reminder that, contrary to conventional wisdom, nice guys DO finish first!

Download 2017 Nomination Form

Enter Nomination Online

Past Award Recipients:

2016      Glenn Robertson

2015      Lawrence Snowden

2014      Wayne Mixson

2013      John B. Mowell